How to customize TouchCopy

TouchCopy provides a large amount of flexibility in its operation. Use TouchCopy Options to customize TouchCopy to your needs.

TouchCopy Options are displayed by clicking "Options" in the TouchCopy tool bar. The Tabs in the Options window separate the areas of functionality to be modified.

Copy To PC/Mac Options

These options relate to copying content from your iPod to your machine hard drive. The settings shown here do not affect the way iPod content is transferred into iTunes. They include:

Setting the folder to which your device's content should be saved to; deciding whether TouchCopy should Copy and Replace existing files with the same name and deciding how the files and folder should be named.

PC has an extra option, where you can define whether an album art thumbnail should be saved with the music.

Mac has two extra options, and in these you can define whether messages are shown to select save location before copying, and whether a message is shown when all the copying has been completed.


In this tab, you can select from a few general options, such as setting the playback volume for the audio tracks, and a few general options, such as whether to eject the iOS device when TouchCopy closes, if you want to display items from the iCloud and whether you want to show album art.

Furthermore, the PC version has a few extra options, such as selecting whether or not you want to browse the library by genre, if you'd like to highlight tunes with DRM protection, and if you'd like a message to be displayed when copying is complete.

iPod Search

In this section, available on PC only, you can define how to search for audio files, if you want the changes to be saved as playlists, and if you want to search only in the playlist currently selected.


This set of options relate to how you want TouchCopy to behave in regards to tracks that have been successfully copied before. You can choose to be asked every single time, to never use track history, to copy tracks even if they've been copied before, or to skip copied tracks.


You can set whether you want to automatically check for updates on start-up on this options tab. You can also perform an Update Check.