Tune Sweeper failed to find duplicates in iTunes library

Wide Angle Software Customer Support

   

Tune Sweeper failed to find duplicates in my iTunes library.

5 (2 Votes)5 (2 Votes)5 (2 Votes)5 (2 Votes)5 (2 Votes) Average: 5 (2 Votes).

Summary

If Tune Sweeper failed to find your duplicate tracks, follow these steps...

  1. Ensure the option "Share iTunes Library XML with other applications" is enabled in iTunes 12.2 or above.
  2. Ensure that you are running the latest version of Tune Sweeper.
  3. Relax your duplicate search criteria.
Download Tune Sweeper Now

Detailed Steps

If you are using iTunes 12.2 or above for PC, the option "Share iTunes Library XML with other applications" must be enabled within iTunes for Tune Sweeper to be able to detect your duplicate tracks.

To enable this option, firstly launch iTunes and select the "Preferences" option that is displayed when clicking the menu icon at the top left corner of the iTunes window.

Select the "Preferences" option in iTunes

In the iTunes preferences window, naviagte to the "Advanced" tab. The option to "Share iTunes Library XML with other applications" will be displayed. Enable this option and then click the "OK" button at the bottom of the preferences window to apply the changes.

Activate Tune Sweeper

Once this option has been enabled, relaunch Tune Sweeper and try again.

Relax the duplicate search criteria

Tune Sweeper will search for duplicates based upon the search criteria that you have set. If this search criteria is strict, the duplicate search will also be strict and may result in fewer or no duplicates being found. Depeding on what you wish to achieve with Tune Sweeper, it is recommended to use the most relaxed duplicate search criteria possible to achieve the required results.

For instance, enabling the "Album" duplicate search criteria will mean that duplicates of a song that are from different albums will not be displayed. Whereas removing the "Album" duplicate search criteria will recognise those tracks as duplicates.

Note: It is recommended (but not required) that the "Artist" duplicate search criteria is enabled.

Publisher: Wide Angle Software
Name: Email:
Message:
As a security check, please complete the reCAPTCHA below:
*Your email address will not be displayed or shared. Please do not include personal information or purchase information such as your activation code or the email address used to purchase. For added security, comments may need to be validated by our support team before they are displayed.

Latest Comments

Gertrude wrote...
2017-04-19
I just purchased Tune sweeper this morning. The software is not finding any duplicates. I'm using Itunes 8.1.0 and I have 22Ksongs. Stored @Library/music/my music/itunes. I followed both suggestions above still not working. Can you help me please! I'm using Windows 7 64



Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2017-04-20
@Gertrude As per the Tune Sweeper requirements, Tune Sweeper 4 requires iTunes 10 or higher. If you are using iTunes 8, Tune Sweeper will not be compatible.
Justin wrote...
2017-02-21
Tunesweeper failed to find duplicates. I followed directions above and I'm set as the administrator in Tunesweeper. It failed to install the update 4.30. My Tunesweeper is 4.28. I am using Windows 10. Please help, I'm very frustrated. Thank you.
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2017-02-22
@Justin Please see the response to your support ticket. Update 4.30 includes important fixes that should resolve this issue. Our technical team will assist in helping you install the update.
Tex Schneider wrote...
2017-02-05
Using a PC. This program does NOT work. It does nothing!
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2017-02-06
@Tex Schneider Please submit a support ticket on our online helpdesk detailing which versions of Tune Sweeper, iTunes and Windows you are using. One of our technical support team will then be able to assist you in resolving this issue.
Josetta wrote...
2017-02-03
I keep getting the message that it can't find my xml file. Does this only work if the xml file is in a "predictable" place? Mine is on an external hard drive. I don't really have time to wait for a reply, but you need to make this so we can specify where our xml file is.
James Olech wrote...
2016-05-26
I have tried all you trouble shooting fixes that you have listed and Tune sweeper 4.11 will not find any duplicates on name and artist in my itunes library. I can see there are hundreds of duplicates in my music collection in itunes. I am running and IMAC with OX El Capitan with the latest updates. Note that XLM files are shared with all apps in itunes preferences Help.
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2016-05-27
@James Olech Can you contact our Helpdesk with further details and any error messages that occur when you search for duplicates? Please also provide if your iTunes library is stored externally to your Mac. We will need this information in order to be able to look into the issue. www.wideanglesoftware.com/helpdesk
Scott Cooper wrote...
2016-05-23
I bought/downloaded tune sweeper 4 from the app store? It doesn't find ANY DUPLICATES and i'm LOOKING at HUNDREDS? It doesn't detect missing art? It says tune sweeper has changed your library scan for duplicates...then none are found? Lastly, it will (find!!!) THE SAME 2600+ SONGS AND ADD IT TO MY LIBRARY AGAIN & AGAIN if I allowed it to. Tell how to arrange a refund as it DOES NOTHING I paid for. The DEMO versions of your competition found and corrected hundreds/thousands of missing art work, artists, albums...DUPLICATES? Wondershare TidyMyMusic and Leawo Tunes cleaner did ALL they claimed! I need to speak with someone VERY DISAPPOINTED.
George wrote...
2016-05-18
Not working, I have tons of duplicates. I have switched to allow other XML applications still no luck
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2016-05-20
@George Please check if you have the correct read and write settings enabled on the music files you wish to remove. If using PC it can help to run in administrator mode. If the problem persists please contact our Helpdesk for further assistance.
frod wrote...
2015-11-03
Hi,

I've just buy licence for tune sweeper, and there is a problem with option \"Fix Track Info\". I've many many tracks with missing informations (Artist - Album) etc, but this program do not find informations. ZERO infomration. I could anderstand if it was unpossible to find for some music, bnut not for ALL (3415 in this case).
Could you please tell me if i have a configuration problem?

Many thanks for your help
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2015-11-04
@frod Please check that you are using the latest version of Tune Sweeper. The program should show that it is attempting to check through the tracks with a bar being displayed at the top. If it is doing this an still returning no information found with no error messages hoping up please can you contact our helpdesk with this problem.
Richard Patton wrote...
2015-10-15
HI do you have software that will warn you if you are adding duplicates to Itunes?
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2015-10-21
@Richard Patton TouchCopy should not copy over duplicates to iTunes. However to make sure please first copy over any playlists. Then please copy over the remaining songs. TouchCopy has a report feature for showing what music is not in your iTunes or on your computer. Please see this link for more information: http://www.wideanglesoftware.com/support/manuals/touchcopy/12/en/reports.php
Jon wrote...
2015-09-29
I cant see how I can remove a duplicate track if one song is for example called 'Sit Down' and in my library I have 'Sit Down1' - even if it is in the same album folder with the same artist name and identical track length. Can you help?
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2015-10-01
@Jon TouchCopy should be able to see these tracks as being the same track as it ignores post fix numbers. Please download out free demo version of Tune Sweeper which will allow you to search for duplicates. https://www.wideanglesoftware.com/tunesweeper/
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2015-09-22
@Richard Sherry Hello,

It does sound like this could be a memory issue. Please try increasing the strictness of the searches and then start to loosen them.
Wide Angle Software logo
Wide Angle Software wrote...
2015-09-18
@Michelle Dawson Hello,

It appears that iTunes 12.2 introduces a new option that is not enabled by default. If you launch iTunes, go into preferences (crtl + ,) and select the 'Advanced' tab. There will be the option to 'Share iTunes Library XML with other applications'. Please enable this option and click OK. Once done, please relaunch Tune Sweeper and try again.